Frequently asked questions

Why should I become a member of QSD?

There are many good reasons:

    • QSD, as the German member of the EUATC (European Union of Associations of Translation Companies), plays an important role in the discussions and decision-making processes affecting the European translation industry. As a QSD member, you receive first-hand information about legal and economic developments in the European translation industry.
    • QSD focuses on professionalism and the highest quality standards for translation services. The certification requirements for members are correspondingly high. The QSD symbol is therefore a distinction which sets QSD members apart from other competing companies, also in the eyes of clients.
FAQs
  • The PR activities and the QSD presence both in the German and the international market, assist each individual QSD member in their own search for additional business.
  • QSD maintains close links with the other European national associations and their members within EUATC. QSD members stand to gain from this cooperative relationship when handling large multilingual translation projects.
  • At QSD, the exchange of information and joint development of strategy regarding issues of quality assurance and optimisation of work processes are key areas where members benefit directly.
  • Through its policies and its links with other professional associations, QSD seeks to bring about an improvement in relations between translation companies and freelance translators. The QSD symbol gives a clear signal and promotes co-operation with freelancers in a spirit of partnership.
  • QSD challenges false preconceptions and promotes the development of the next generation of translators by providing practical training placements and trainee positions for translators at the business premises of QSD members. All QSD members can participate in these programmes.
  • QSD members actively share information on best practices in everyday translation, company and management life.
  • Through targeted PR activities, QSD is raising the status of the translation profession in the eyes of the public, and thus improving the image of its members and of translators generally.
  • QSD organises and participates in events, and also takes part in events, such as congresses, symposiums, seminars and workshops, from which QSD members can derive immediate benefit.

What does QSD membership cost?

QSD membership entains a one-off charge of EUR250.00. This includes the QSD audit and the issuing of a membership certificate.

The annual fee for full membership is EUR800.00.

The same fees also apply for probationary membership. The one-off charge for membership is not due until the probationary membership is converted to full membership or the option of the QSD audit is taken up during probationary membership. Should the aspirant member wish to cancel its membership before the probationary membership expires, the annual membership fee will be refunded in proportion to the remaining (full) months.

Are there any concrete financial advantages in addition to the benefits mentioned above?

QSD has signed contracts with several suppliers, which allow QSD members to make purchases directly at reduced rates. Furthermore, there is also the possibility of centralised buying by all or several members in order to obtain special conditions.

The costs of seminars, workshops, etc., are subsidised by QSD, thereby allowing all QSD members to participate at extremely favourable prices.

Frequently asked questions

Warum soll ich Mitglied im QSD werden?

Weil viele gute Gründe dafür sprechen:

  • Der QSD, als das deutsche Mitglied in der EUATC (European Union of Associations of Translations Companies), ist aktiv an den Diskussions- und Entscheidungsprozessen der europäischen Übersetzungsbranche beteiligt. QSD-Mitglieder erhalten Informationen aus erster Hand über gesetzliche und wirtschaftliche Entwicklungen in der europäischen Übersetzungsindustrie.
  • Der QSD setzt auf Professionalität und höchste Qualität der translatorischen Dienstleistungen. Die Anforderungen an die Qualifikation der Mitglieder sind  dementsprechend hoch. Das QSD-Siegel ist daher eine Auszeichnung, die QSD-Mitglieder deutlich von anderen Mitbewerbern, auch Kunden gegenüber, abhebt.
FAQs
  • Die PR-Aktivitäten und die Präsenz des QSD auf dem deutschen und internationalen Markt kommen jedem einzelnen QSD-Mitglied in seiner Außenwirkung zugute.
  • Der QSD unterhält enge Verbindungen zu den übrigen europäischen Nationalverbänden und deren Mitgliedern innerhalb der EUATC. Von diesen kooperativen Beziehungen können QSD-Mitglieder bei der Abwicklung größerer multilingualer Übersetzungsprojekte profitieren.

  • Im QSD sind der Erfahrungsaustausch und die gemeinsame Strategieentwicklung in Fragen der Qualitätssicherung und Optimierung der Arbeitsprozesse prioritäre Schwerpunkte, von denen Mitglieder direkt profitieren.

  • Der QSD versucht mit seiner Politik und seinen Verbindungen zu anderen berufsständischen Verbänden, eine Verbesserung der Beziehungen zwischen Übersetzungsunternehmern und Freelance-Übersetzern herbeizuführen. Das QSD-Label setzt ein deutliches Signal, und fördert das kollegiale Miteinander mit den freien Mitarbeitern.

  • Der QSD räumt mit Vorurteilen auf und fördert den Übersetzernachwuchs durch das Angebot von Praktika und Traineestellen für ÜbersetzerInnen bei QSD-Mitgliedern. Alle QSD-Mitglieder können sich an diesen Programmen beteiligen.

  • QSD-Mitglieder tauschen sich aktiv zu Best Practices im Übersetzungs-, Unternehmens- und Managementalltag aus.

  • Durch gezielte PR-Aktivitäten erhöht der QSD das Ansehen des Übersetzerberufs in der Öffentlichkeit und verbessert somit auch das Image seiner Mitglieder und des Übersetzers im Allgemeinen.

  • Der QSD richtet Veranstaltungen aus und ist selbst an Events, wie Kongressen, Symposien, Seminaren und Workshops beteiligt, von denen QSD-Mitglieder einen direkten Nutzen ziehen.

Was kostet die Mitgliedschaft im QSD?

  • Die Aufnahme in den Verband kostet einmalig 250,00 EUR. Dieser Preis beinhaltet das Aufnahmeprozedere, die Bereitstellung der QSD Logos, des QSD-Siegels und die Ausstellung einer Mitgliedsurkunde. Alle Mitglieder werden außerdem auf der QSD-Website unter „Mitglieder“ gelistet mit einem Link zur Unternehmenswebsite Dies ist für das Marketing nützlich. Unter dem Menüpunkt „Aktuelles“ auf der QSD-Website können Mitglieder außerdem offene Praktikanten- und Traineestellen ausschreiben.
  • Die ordentliche Mitgliedschaft kostet jährlich 800,00 EUR.

Gibt es neben den oben genannten Vorteilen auch konkrete finanzielle Vorteile?

  • Die Kosten für Seminare, Workshops etc. werden vom QSD subventioniert, so dass alle QSD-Mitglieder zu extrem niedrigen Preisen daran teilnehmen können.
  • Die Teilnahme an EUATC Konferenzen sowie anderen Veranstaltungen der EUATC ist für die Mitglieder der nationalen Verbände – so auch des QSD – vergünstigt.
  • Der QSD ist außerordentliches Mitglied des BDÜ, daher können Mitarbeiter der QSD Mitgliedsunternehmen zu BDÜ-Mitgliedspreisen an Fortbildungen teilnehmen (gilt für das gesamte Bildungsprogramm des BDÜ).